Romance or not romance?

That’s the question that’s bugged me for a long time regarding my writing so it seems the obvious title for my blog.

I’m an indie writer of fiction (e-books and some print publications), aimed -principally but not exclusively!- at a female readership.  My longer-length fiction is realist and contemporary and is concerned with relationships – many of them amorous.  However, my writing doesn’t always adhere to the conventions of the romance genre and feedback from some readers has suggested that it isn’t properly defined as romance.  ‘Character fiction’ is an alternative label that has been applied to it.

I also write shorter fiction, mostly in the genre of historical romance.  Overall, then, I’m often uncertain whether to label my books as romance or something else – hence the title!

Leave a Reply

